The xx will See You on January 13

The xx will release their third album, I See You, on January 13th, their first new album in four years. In contrast to the relative isolation of the recording of the trio’s first two albums, the ten songs on I See You were tracked over the course of two and a half years, between March 2014 and August 2016, in New York, Los Angeles, Reykjavik, London and Marfa, TX.

Jamie xx has said that the direction of his 2015 solo album In Colour influenced the bolder, more expansive approach to I See You. The group is scheduled to appear as musical guests on Saturday Night Live on Nov. 18th, hosted by Kristen Wiig. Presumably they’ll play a couple of their new songs, including their “funky” advance single from I See You, “On Hold,” the studio version of which features a prominent sample of Hall and Oates’ 1981 hit “I Can’t Go For That (No Can Do).” An extensive European tour by The xx will commence in February; no North American dates announced yet.

Photo by Laura Coulson.